The International Solar Alliance (ISA) has elected its next Director General choosing India’s nominee Dr. Ajay Mathur to succeed current incumbent Upendra Tripathy who has been leading the organization since 2015. Mathur’s name was confirmed following an election during the 1st ever special assembly of the alliance held to select the next Director General of the ISA.

An official statement by the ISA on Mathur’s election by 73 member nations said he will take over from Tripathy on March 15, 2021. He is currently working as the Director General of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI). Previously, he led the Bureau of Energy Efficiency for the Indian government and also held a leadership position at the Green Climate Fund.

“ISA has a vital role to help establish the infrastructure and ecosystem for a zero-carbon emission future,” said Mathur. “With strong foundations already in place, my immediate focus is to identify and mobilize the opportunities and capital to accelerate our solarization goals in the interim and long-term.”

An earlier report by Indian business newspaper Mint dated February 13, 2021 said Mathur’s appointment was set to be finalized during the special virtual assembly of the ISA on February 15, 2021, after Mauritius withdrew from the race.