Solar Power For 25 Australian Councils

25 Councils Sign Up For 214 GWh Solar Energy Annually Under One Among Largest RE Deals In NSW

Solar Power For 25 Australian Councils

The electricity supply agreement will see solar energy supply to various facilities under 25 local councils that altogether cater to more than 3 million customers. This helps them ensure long term competitive price as well. (Source: ZEN Energy Retail Pty Ltd)

  • 25 local councils in Australia’s NSW have entered a joint renewable energy deal from 3 solar farms
  • Power supply will come from 56 MW Moree Solar Farm, 119 MW Hillston Sun Farm, and 132 MW Nevertire Solar Farm
  • 214 GWh annual solar power supply will start from 2022 and end in 2026, with an option to extend the agreement till 2030

The Southern Sydney Regional Organization of Councils (SSROC) and electricity retailer Zero Emissions Now or ZEN Energy Retail Pty Ltd have entered, what is touted to be one among largest renewable energy deals for the local governments in New South Wales (NSW), to supply over 214 GWh of solar power annually to 25 councils from 3 solar farms.

Solar power will be supplied from Fotowatio Renewable Ventures’ (FRV) 56 MW Moree Solar Farm, 119 MW Hillston Sun Farm of amp Energy, and 132 MW Nevertire Solar Farm of Elliott Green Power Limited, all located with NSW.

The AUD 180 million retail electricity agreement entails supply of solar energy to over 300 major council facilities, more than 210,000 streetlights and over 3,000 small sites managed by the councils. Altogether, the 25 councils cater to over 3 million customers, accounting for almost 38% of the state’s population. Of the 25 councils, 19 have opted for 100% renewable energy supply.

As per the deal, the agreement comes into effect in 2022 and will be valid till 2026, with an option to extend to 2030. SSROC CEO Helen Sloan explained that this group offtake ensures the councils get secure competitive pricing for their renewable electricity supply and can meet their targets without having to enter into a long term agreement.

Burwood Mayor and SSROC President Cr John Faker said, “By buying as a group, councils have got a great renewable energy deal at the same cost or at a lower cost than their existing contracts for traditional black power.”

The 25 participating councils are Bayside, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury Bankstown, Fairfield, Georges River, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde, Singleton, Sutherland, Tamworth, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.

Back in 2018, SSROC had cracked a similar deal with Origin Energy to supply solar power to 20 Sydney local councils to help them meet up to 35% of their demand. The group power purchase agreement (PPA) entailed solar power from the 56 MW Moree Solar Farm.

About The Author

Anu Bhambhani

Anu Bhambhani is the Senior News Editor of TaiyangNews. Anu is our solar news whirlwind. At TaiyangNews she covers everything that is of importance in the world of solar power.

Subscribe To Newsletter

Register for the upcoming event

Latest Videos


Subscribe To Our Taiyang NewsLetter 
Enter your email to receive our daily solar sector updates.