• Malaysia’s Energy Commission has issued request for proposal for the second round of large scale PV plant capacity
  • Total capacity of 460 MW is divided between 360 MW for Peninsular Malaysia and 100 MW for Sabah/Labuan region
  • Tenaga Nasional Berhad or Sabah Electricity Sdn. Bhd., will buy all the power generated from this capacity
  • The entire capacity of 460 MW is expected to come online by 2019-2020
  • Last date to submit RFP documents is set as August 1, 2017

The Energy Commission of Malaysia (EC) is inviting requests for proposal (RFP) for the development of Large Scale Solar PV Plant (LSS). This is the second competitive bidding program in this segment. In January 2017, EC awarded 450 MW of capacity in the first LSS bids (see Malaysia Awards Over 450 MW PV Capacity).

As last time, the capacity will be located in Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah/Labuan region. For Peninsular Malaysia, the LSS capacity to be tendered will be a total of 360 MW, ranging from 1 MW to 30 MW. In the Sabah/Labuan area, an aggregate of 100 MW will be tendered.

In the first round, the total capacity announced was 250 MW, together for both the regions. But the final allotment was for over 450 MW.

All PV plants will be connected to the grid and all energy generated will be sold to Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB) or Sabah Electricity Sdn. Bhd., under a solar power purchase agreement.

The entire capacity will need to be commissioned by 2019-2020.

As for the location, the agency has stated, “EC will make available the information on the injection points for connection to the grid. Only those proposals with shallow connection will be encouraged to avoid unnecessary delays in the project implementation as well as reducing the cost of the interconnection. However, an alternative site may be offered by the bidder for consideration subject to the approval by the utility companies.”

RFP documents for the second round of LSS capacity can be bought from the EC headquarter Suruhanjaya Tenaga in Putrajaya, and also from the EC Kota Kinabalu Regional Office in Sabah.

The RFP documents can only be submitted to the EC headquarter in Putrajaya. Last date of proposal submission is August 1, 2017. More information can accessed on EC’s website.